The Narsimhaswamy Temple is located on the Simhachalan hill and was built in the 11th century by King Sri Krishnadevarayam. Situated at an elevation of 244 meters, the Temple is commonly called the Hill of the Lion Lord and is dedicated to Lord Vishnu. The inscriptions on the temple walls date back to 1098 AD.
The temple is the second richest temple after Tirupati and earns revenue of INR 520 million annually. The 16 pillared Natya Mandap and the 96 pillared Kalyana Mandap are beautifully carved and boast of architectural excellence.
The deity gives nijarupa darshan (holy appearance in true form) for only 12 hours a year. The rest of the days he is covered in sandalwood paste. The image of the deity is covered with a thick layer of sandalwood paste and the actual shape and features of the deity can only be seen on the Chandanotsavam Festival from March to April. Devotees from all over the world visit the site during the Chandanotsavam Festival season.
The site can be reached from almost all parts of Vizag (16 kms). Various buses and cabs are available on hire from the Waltair Railway Station or Dwarka Bus Station. From here one can climb the steps or take a bus up to the temple via the narrow and curvy hill road.